Department of Natural Sciences

Department of Natural Sciences

The Department of Natural Sciences is the home for biological sciences, physical sciences, and earth sciences at Dickinson State University.

The department is housed in  Murphy Hall, a $10 million facility completed in 2008.  The classrooms in this building contain state-of-the-art projection equipment, and the laboratory facilities are designed to provide students with hands-on-experiences using modern scientific equipment in small group settings.

Murphy Hall Exterior.jpg 

Murphy Hall The Science Building 


All tenured and tenure-track faculty in the Department of Natural Sciences have Ph.D.s from prestigious universities.  They continue to keep abreast of changes in their fields and work to ensure that their classes reflect the most current information.  Many of the faculty are actively involved in research activities which students are invited to join.