Faculty

Faculty

The faculty members in the Department of Social Sciences are highly regarded by their peers. Most of the instructors have earned a doctorate degree and each instructor has a special academic interest which contributes to his expertise in the field.

Dedicated and concerned, the instructors care deeply about the success of their students and their concern is demonstrated by informal conversations and formal consultations. Close mentoring by faculty members guarantee students have the benefit of individual appraisal and assistance.

 

Steven DohertyDr. Steven Doherty
Chair of the Department of Social Sciences/Professor of Political Science
Office: Stickney Hall 419
Phone: (701) 483-2065
Email: Steven.Doherty@dickinsonstate.edu

Loyola University Chicago, Ph.D.
Iowa State University, M.A.
University of Wisconsin - Superior, B.S. 

 

 

 

 

 

Gary CummiskDr. Gary Cummisk
Professor of Geography
Office: Online
Phone: (509) 306-1006
Email: Gary.Cummisk@dickinsonstate.edu

University of Oregon, Ph.D.
Cornell University, M.F.A.
Central Washington University, M.S.
Virginia Wesleyan College, B.A. 

 

 

 

 

 

Karen HaleDr. Karen Hale
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Office: Stickney 421
Phone: (701) 483-2494
Email: Karen.Hale@dickinsonstate.edu

Texas A&M International University, B.S., M.A.
Texas Woman’s University, Ph.D.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Laurie KarieLaurie Karie
Instructor of Sociology
Office: Stickney Hall 412
Phone: (701) 483-2117
Email: Laurie.Karie@dickinsonstate.edu

The University of Kansas, M.A
Mid-America Nazarene University, B.A

 

 

 

 

 

 

David MeierDr. David Meier
Professor of History
Office: Stickney Hall 422
Phone: (701) 483-2116
Email: David.Meier@dickinsonstate.edu

University of Wisconsin, M.A.; Ph.D.
Eastern Illinois University, B.A.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

Frank VarneyDr. Frank P. Varney
Associate Professor of History
Office: Stickney Hall 411
Phone: (701) 483-2144
Email: Frank.Varney@dickinsonstate.edu

Cornell University, M.A., Ph.D.
William Paterson University of New Jersey, B.A. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dana WhippoDr. Dana Whippo
Assistant Professor of Economics and Political Science
Office: Stickney Hall 416
Phone: (701) 483-2410
Email: Dana.Whippo@dickinsonstate.edu

Baylor University, B.A., M.S.
Indiana University, Ph.D.