Program - Teacher Education

Program - Teacher Education


Excellent teachers are of vital importance to the future of America and its children. The Department of Teacher Education, in cooperation with academic departments across the campus, offers high quality teacher education programs in elementary education and in numerous secondary education subject areas.

Policies and procedures pertinent to the Teacher Education Program are contained in the Teacher Education Handbook.



Dickinson State University has teacher education programs leading to three basic licensures:

  • Elementary Licensure (Grades 1-6) entitles the holder to teach in the regular elementary classroom for grades one through six.
  • Secondary Licensure (Grades 7-12) entitles the holder to teach in the major area in secondary classrooms for grades seven through twelve.
  • K-12 Licensure entitles the holder to teach in the restricted areas (i.e. art, P.E., music) in all grade levels.


These licenses can be attained through one of the following majors:

Additionally, candidates admitted to the Teacher Education department may complete concentrations for endorsements in the following areas:

  • Middle School Education
  • Kindergarten
  • Reading

Candidates also have available, at no cost, an online workshop for teacher candidates to learn and practice phonics skills. The Reading Horizons Online Workshop can be accessed via this link.


Teacher Education Program Outcomes

The standards that guide the Teacher Education program were developed by the Interstate Teacher Assessment and Support Consortium (InTASC) and have been adopted by a majority of states, including North Dakota. InTASC is a consortium of state education agencies and national educational organizations dedicated to the reform of the preparation, licensing, and on-going professional development of teachers. Its work is guided by one basic premise: An effective teacher must be able to integrate content knowledge with the specific strengths and needs of students to assure that all students learn and perform at high levels.

The ten InTASC standards comprise the program outcomes for DSU Teacher Education. All coursework and experiences in the program are designed to enhance candidates’ proficiency in the InTASC standards, which articulate the basic competencies that should be mastered by a beginning teacher.

InTASC Standard 1: Learner Development

The teacher understands how learners grow and develop, recognizing that patterns of learning and development vary individually within and across the cognitive, linguistic, social, emotional, and physical areas, and designs and implements developmentally appropriate and challenging learning experiences.

InTASC Standard 2: Learning Differences

The teacher uses understanding of individual differences and diverse cultures and communities to ensure inclusive learning environments that enable each learner to meet high standards.

InTASC Standard 3: Learning Environments

The teacher works with others to create environments that support individual and collaborative learning, and that encourage positive social interaction, active engagement in learning, and self-motivation.

InTASC Standard 4: Content Knowledge

The teacher understands the central concepts, tools of inquiry, and structures of the discipline(s) s/he teaches and creates learning experiences that make these aspects of the discipline accessible and meaningful for learners to assure mastery of the content.

InTASC Standard 5: Application of Content

The teacher understands how to connect concepts and use differing perspectives to engage learners in critical thinking, creativity, and collaborative problem solving related to authentic local and global issues.

InTASC Standard 6: Assessment

The teacher understands and uses multiple methods of assessment to engage learners in their own growth, to monitor learner progress, and to guide the teacher’s and learner’s decision making.

InTASC Standard 7: Planning for Instruction

The teacher plans instruction that supports every student in meeting rigorous learning goals by drawing upon knowledge of content areas, curriculum, cross-disciplinary skills, and pedagogy, as well as knowledge of learners and the community context.

InTASC Standard 8: Instructional Strategies

The teacher understands and uses a variety of instructional strategies to encourage learners to develop deep understanding of content areas and their connections, and to build skills to apply knowledge in meaningful ways.

InTASC Standard 9: Professional Learning and Ethical Practice

The teacher engages in ongoing professional learning and uses evidence to continually evaluate his/her practice, particularly the effects of his/her choices and actions on others (learners, families, other professionals, and the community), and adapts practice to meet the needs of each learner.

InTASC Standard 10: Leadership and Collaboration

The teacher seeks appropriate leadership roles and opportunities to take responsibility for student learning, to collaborate with learners, families, colleagues, other school professionals, and community members to ensure learner growth, and to advance the profession.


Contact us:


(701) 483-2178